【Food for Thought】Work Hard, Play Hard

What is your greatest achievement to date?

I currently have to prepare myself for another interview (or assessment centre), and we were asked to prepare for a presentation task. We were given 4 questions to choose from and one of them was “What is your greatest achievement to date?”

I don’t know about you, but I hate this question. In the past, this question always seems to pop up during the interview and back then I would simply give a very common answer: “got my driving license… got into university…”. My answer was pretty lame if I’m honest, but if I don’t use those as my answer, I really don’t know what else to say.

But this time, my answer is going to be different.

You may have already know what my answer is going to be, and you may even that this is another rubbish answer, but allow me to explain…

My greatest achievement to date… are using nearly 10 years of my life to finally understand why we need to work hard, play hard.

Before I always wanted to work less and play hard, but as time passed I started to work hard and play less. Whether it was studying or working I slowly started to forget about giving myself a good break. I do have hobbies and interests, but they were never enough to make me feel recharged, I still felt tired and in a way it made me become reluctant to really become an adult. I felt that being an adult will mean I will simply have to carry on working hard and playing less, being an adult will mean that I won’t be able to have fun like I used to when I was young.

However, in the last few years I went travelling to several countries, and without knowing I fell in love with travelling. I now constantly read articles related to travelling and are always trying to plan my next holiday. My passion for travelling has also made me decided to create this blog, because I want to record and share all my travel experiences with other people. I now have a motivation to work hard and play hard.

My passion for food science can motivate me to get out of bed each morning and go to work, but if I didn’t have a motivation to play hard, one day I will get tired and wouldn’t want to get out of bed. If I only play hard and don’t work hard, very quickly I will become bored and lose interest with what I once thought I really enjoyed doing. It’s only when I work hard, play hard would I become energetic for a long time and will push myself to go even further in life.

It’s only after experiencing this did I fully understand why people always say “work hard, play hard” and not something else.

Even though I have been talking about working hard in this post, I have to be honest, I have been a bit lazy recently hahaha. I have a lot posts I want to write about, but I just couldn’t bring myself to go and type it out. 

💕Miss Wai Ting

======================================================

Like this post? Then don’t forget to give this a like!

Follow me on Facebook 

Follow me on Instagram

Visit my other blog:  Miss Wai Ting Beauty

Leave a Reply

