【Hull】Hull is 2017 City of Culture? 🇬🇧

This city is not what I expected in many different ways…

For those who may have read my previous posts, you will remember me mentioning that I will be going to Hull for an interview. I obviously used this great opportunity to look around Hull city, as it is my first time coming to Hull.

For those who may want to read my previous posts you can find the links below:
【January Review】Job Interviews 🎢
【Food for Thought】Why it’s important to think positively

This post is just a general overview of what I think about the Hull city. I will be writing another post soon of my day at Hull. 

I remember seeing the news at the beginning of the year, where it mentioned about Hull being selected as the 2017 City of Culture. Back then I would never have guessed that I will get a chance to visit the city, so when I found out about going there, I was excited to explore this city of culture.

I found a few places that I want to go and see, such as the City Hall, The Deep, Scale Lane Swing Bridge and the Holy Trinity Church. Luckily they’re all within walking distance from my hotel, so it was perfect.

As I’m not a fan of going out when it’s dark, I wanted to have a walk around the city while there was still some light. However I found that there was a lot of road works and reconstruction going on in several places around the city. This is one of the reasons why I was slightly disappointed. You would have thought that all these roadworks are already completed, ready for becoming the City of Culture 2017. Who would have thought that they would do it during the year.

p1090177ps

Sure it’s only the second month into 2017, but shouldn’t the city would have already completed all these reconstructions before 2017?! I feel that they are not ready at all. Another thing is that I saw they have a ‘Fruit Market’ (they don’t actually sell fruits there btw), where there will be art galleries and music venues. However it’s not even built yet!! 

🙄

Even the Holy Trinity Church was going through some refurbishment 🙄p1090298ps

I feel like I came to this city at the wrong time… Maybe near the end of the year would have been a suitable timing…..🙄🙄🙄

On a positive note though, I did enjoy walking along River Hull over to The Deep, especially when it was still quite early in the day so it was pretty peaceful and calming. It was also nice to have some fresh air and just enjoy the sunlight. Shame I forgot to bring my sunglasses as the sun was practically burning my eyes hahaha.

p1090276ps

Anyway that’s it for today’s post, I didn’t want to write too much as I want to save it for my “Day at Hull” post, this is like a teaser for my actual Hull post.

I promise to publish my Day at Hull post as soon as possible, but in the mean time you can check out my other posts! 😉

💕Miss Wai Ting

======================================================

Like this post? Then don’t forget to give this a like!

Follow me on Facebook 

Follow me on Instagram

Visit my other blog:  Miss Wai Ting Beauty

4 thoughts on “【Hull】Hull is 2017 City of Culture? 🇬🇧

  1. japanathonblog says:

    These titles and awards are often a way to drive tourism and gain redevelopment funding. Chances are that being named city of culture got them access to funding for a lot of new projects such as major road improvements. Still it’s always worth getting a feel for any new city whether it has a fancy title or not. Interesting post with good pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

